Countdown to Halloween / Holidazed / Music / Nostalgia'd! / Tunes

Thriller Thursdays: Halloween Dance Party!

I don’t know about you, but there’s something about spooky songs that get my toes tapping. Some songs actually have dances associated with them! Today, let’s celebrate those songs, and perhaps learn a new dance step or two.

“Thriller”, Michael Jackson

Original video:

Instructional video:

This is probably the most popular Halloween-related dance. Everyone at some point or another has emulated some of the King of Pop’s moves from this video when they’re alone. As a person who does a fair amount of car dancing at red lights, I can tell you that any time of year is the right time to do the “Thriller” dance. It’s a fairly complicated dance to learn, but if you’re dedicated, perhaps you can participate in your own personal flash mob.

“Monster Mash”, Bobby (Boris) Pickett and the Crypt-Kicker Five

Original video (from a performance on American Bandstand):

Instructional video:

This is one of the most recognizable Halloween songs. I remember having a Halloween sound effects tape from Hallmark that had this on the b-side, along with other crappy covers of Halloween songs like “Ghostbusters” and “Thriller”. And probably every Halloween mix tape ever has a version of this song on it. That’s not to say it’s a bad song. On the contrary, even though it’s been done to death, I still get a kick out of it. It’s so much fun to listen to, and it always gets my toes tapping.

“The Time Warp”, Rocky Horror Picture Show Cast

Original video:

Instructional video:

As much as I love “Thriller,” this is my favorite Halloween dance song. It’s so dreamy (OH FANTASY FREEEEE MEEEEEE…oops, sorry, I forgot myself for a second). Seriously, though, every year I say, “Someday I’m going to dress up as a RHPS character and do the Time Warp all night long.” I haven’t done it yet, but at some point I’m gonna have to stop dreaming it and just be it. If you’ve never stood in your bathroom and danced the Time Warp, well, then, you’re not me.

So, what songs make you boogie in the graveyard?

Leave a comment