Artsy Fartsy / Nerdery / Nostalgia'd! / Plastic Kingdom

Bring Your Man-E-Faces to Work Day 2014

As you may (or may not) recall from last year, I participated in the annual “Bring Your Man-E-Faces to Work Day”. Man-E and I had such a great time, he wanted to do it again this year. Unlike last year, I worked from home, so he didn’t have far to go, but he still had some fun.

IMG_4134

He arrived in the office (a short trek from the bedroom) with coffee and his briefcase in hand. “I’m ready to get to work,” he said, smiling. “But first, coffee!” (I’m not sure he actually drinks coffee. I think he thought it was required to work in an office.)

IMG_4122

“This stuff tastes awful! How do you drink it?” I told him I actually don’t drink coffee, so I could sympathize. “I see why!” he said, grimacing from the bitter flavor.

IMG_4124

“Whatcha workin’ on?” he asked as I started my day. I told him I had some things I needed to accomplish, but that he could help me clean out my inbox. “This is boring. When’s lunch?” I told him it wasn’t for another few hours.

IMG_4141

“Hey, I brought some of my favorite toys because I wanted to take pictures of them like you do!”

IMG_4145

 

“This is fun!” he smiled. “Will you post one of the pictures I took?”

IMG_4146

This was the best of the ones he took. He’s learning.

IMG_4140

Ol’ Man-E took a break to update his Man-E-Facesbook status. “Working hard this morning! Can’t wait until lunch. #WhenDoWeEat”

IMG_4135

Finally, it was lunchtime. “Good thing!” Man-E said. “I was beginning to think it would never get here.”

IMG_4136

After we ate, Man-E decided to read me passages from his favorite book, the mini-comic “The Ordeal of Man-E-Faces!” It helped the time pass.

IMG_4144

Finally, it was time to pack it in for the day. Man-E celebrated his adventure with an episode of The Simpsons and a cold one. “I can’t wait until next year!” he said.

Wondering what all of this is about? “Bring Your Man-E-Faces to Work Day” started as an event at NECA Toys in 2011. Then, someone decided to share it with the world. It’s a fun way to celebrate geek culture in the workplace, and to see how creative toy fans can be. For more information, check out their Facebook page or on Instagram, check out the hashtag #BringYourManEFacesToWorkDay.

Leave a Reply

