Artsy Fartsy / Comic Bookery / Countdown to Halloween / Holidazed / Music / Nerdery / Tunes

Thriller Thursdays: Carl Poppa

carl poppaIf you haven’t seen Bad Lip Reading, you may not have seen the phenomenon that is my new favorite song, “Carl Poppa”. I first became familiar with BLR when someone shared one of the NFL videos on Facebook, but it’s so much more than that. There are videos ranging from films like Twilight to shows like Game of Thrones and The Walking DeadThey are all silly fun, and the appeal for me is that they remind me of Mad Movies with the LA Connection that I watched as a kid. (I blame the Little Princess episode for a lot of my warped sense of humor.)

“Carl Poppa” comes from the second Walking Dead video, which I have watched about 20 times already. (The first Walking Dead video features a Broadway song by everyone’s favorite Governor.) Something about the silly conversations BLR create with these bad dubs cracks me up every time. And Carl’s song may have made me snort and scare my dog. (Maybe. OK, totally.) Thankfully, I’m not the only one. When I shared it on Facebook, one of my pals shared my affinity for lyrics like “Dur dur dur dee dur.”

dance zombie

The track is available for download on iTunes, and I’m sure you’re saying, “But why would you pay for a silly song like that?” Let me tell you, that was the best $0.99 I’ve spent in a while. Having a bad day? Fire up “Carl Poppa” and let the younger Grimes pep you up. (It’s almost as good as He-Man singing “What’s Going On?”) I’m impressed at how well produced the song is. I tested the sound quality on the way home the other day, and it made my commute so much more fun.

Here’s the song in its entirety, complete with lyrics. I definitely recommend adding this one to your Halloween playlist. Listen to it in anticipation of the season premiere of The Walking Dead this Sunday!

So are you a fan of The Walking Dead? Do you buy songs based on YouTube videos? What songs should I cover on upcoming Thriller Thursdays? Sound off, boils and ghouls.

Leave a Reply

