League of Extraordinary Bloggers

League of Extraordinary Bloggers: Reality Check

I’m switching things up and adding League posts to my own blog (which, incidentally, I forgot I had set up and never posted to–crazy!). Welcome! You can find my other League posts on Pendragon’s Post here.

Here’s the topic: Television executives have determined that you lead an amazing life and have pegged you as the next big reality TV star. What’s the name and the premise of your show?

I’m a fan of shows like Toy Hunter and Collection Intervention, mostly because I love seeing other people’s collections. It gives me display ideas and more items for my want list usually. The one thing I don’t like about a lot of reality shows in general is the old meme of couples who are at odds with one another. For example, last week’s Collection Intervention featured a guy who loved to collect Battlestar Galactica memorabilia, and his wife, who was portrayed as hating everything her husband liked. She didn’t want anything of his to touch her precious living space.

Look, I get it. Not everyone has a house like mine, where we live with our collection in every room. But for pete’s sake, let the man have something in the house that reflects him. Argh! (But I digress…)

I submit to you my reality show: Geeks in Love. This show would follow my husband and I (a couple who actually likes spending time together) on our adventures through pop culture. Each week, we’ll split time between featuring a part of our extensive collection and discussing some aspect of the geekosphere, like movies, comics, or TV shows. To spice things up, maybe we’ll play fight about which Smurf is the lamest.

On second thought, I don’t know that the world is ready for a couple that gets along. People seem to enjoy the schadenfreude of couples who are always a breath away from divorce court (or at least are portrayed that way).

So what about you, gentle readers? What would a reality show starring you be like?

2 thoughts on “League of Extraordinary Bloggers: Reality Check

  1. Pingback: The Arcade Collector [The League] | Cold Slither Podcast

Leave a comment